Year Compass_2020-2021

Self-Reflection to Support Yourself. You are stronger than you think

Ying-Shiuan Chen
2 min readJan 6, 2021

Since the pandemic happened, I started to write down what I did or tasks I am planning to do in the journal. I also did one more thing that makes me feel good: I suggested talking about “OUR WEEK” with my boyfriend at the end of the week.

After Christmas of 2020, I was thinking about what I did this year. My boyfriend and I decided to talk about our last year and plan the next year. When I am writing everything down the list by list, memories come flooding back, I asked myself, did I make a progress this year?

And then I found this "YearCompass" online, I downloaded it and read the question inside of it. I think that is a good idea I do this "YearCompass" with my boyfriend. We spent almost three-night to finished our YearCompass. When I filled answers in boxes, I was reminded of something happened in my life.

Here is the link of YearCompass : https://yearcompass.com/

Credit: YearCompass

I am a Self-Reflective person, I am used to receiving different perspectives and organizing things that happened in my past. Thinking what is the next step. I want to improve myself to know where I could do it better and better. Sometimes, I feel I am not good enough.

When I was doing “YearCompass”, I realized I had done more than I expected. I feel my past is supporting me to head the next year. YearCompass help us to think from different field and understand what we want to. So after I did of YearCompass, can truly feel the energy from inside of myself. There is a lot of things we can’t predict, but there are things that supported and gave us energy as things that happened nearby our daily life. From the things that you did, your family, your friends, a stranger, your co-worker, a sudden thing that happens, your dream, your achievement, your breakpoint, all of a tiny thing could be a strong back for you.

Even though there is no big breakthrough in the past year, you are on your own path right now. We will find the spark in our formula, so don’t worry. You are the best and never give up.

Let me share my word for next year: Certainty!!!

Hope you can enjoy "YearCompass" in your own way, also welcome to share with me or your family and friends.

--

--

Ying-Shiuan Chen

Interaction Designer | Digital and Physical Prototyping | XR Developer